Why Facilitate a Hacking Health event?

Image-1

I could spend days talking about Hacking Health and all the different roles and responsibilities I’ve held. But I wanted to take this opportunity to talk about my role as a Facilitator for Hacking Health, and why it’s been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. Before I dive into that though, here’s a little definition of what a Hacking Health Facilitator is:

A leader who serves as a connection between Hacking Health’s global team and local chapters. With over 33 chapters across the world, Facilitators are key in ensuring local chapters have all the resources and guidance they need to bring together all the stakeholders in the community.

So here are a few reasons why I loved serving as a Facilitator for different Hacking Health chapters around the world:

1) Contribute to an amazing, innovative cause: Honestly, I had nothing to do with healthcare before I started working with Hacking Health. I had a phone, a computer and had dabbled with building websites back in high school but that was the extent of my involvement with technology. But working on HH initiatives truly inspired me as I watched a group of people step outside of their comfort zones to solve problems in healthcare – an industry that impacts each and every one of us.

2) Learn new skills and gather new perspectives: Working with a team you’ve never met in person and who are likely in different time zones and from different cultures requires a completely different set of skills. In the past few years, I’ve learned both soft and hard skills that have undoubtedly transferred into my other jobs. If I’ve wanted to develop a certain skill or learn about something in particular, HH has provided me with that opportunity or introduced me to leaders who could do the same. I learned from how engineers, doctors, and designers approach a certain problem and was able to apply that to the legal field. And I learned how leaders across different cities and countries engaged their community.

3) Explore new opportunities: Apart from everything else, working with HH has opened several doors for me. This is an environment where people from different walks of life come together. I’ve been offered jobs, speaking opportunities, and the chance to contribute to other meaningful causes.

4) Work with people from across the world: Back in 2012, we didn’t know HH would go global. It has now! And it is all the more reason for people to get involved. Members of the HH Global team are based out of Canada, Brazil and France. But as a Facilitator, you get to lead teams across different countries and continents! I’ve made friends and gathered life-long mentors. Even though I’ve worked with most of these teams remotely and have likely only spent three days with them in person, they continue to play an important role in my life.

5) Travel! It’s not all about the meetings, the phone calls and the emails. Helping build and sustain a chapter has its perks – you get to travel! And that brings with it new experiences, new friends and a plethora of new perspectives. I’ve personally had the opportunity to travel (without having to pay for transportation and accommodation) to major cities across Canada, including Whitehorse, Yukon. Last year, I spent a week in Australia and a number of our other Facilitators travelled to France, Spain, the Netherlands, etc.

Hacking Health is still a growing organization that often functions as a start-up. Join us if you’re looking to step outside of your comfort zone and contribute to something truly meaningful!

